Earlier there were only three districts in Mizoram – Aizawl, Lunglei and Chhimtuipui district. In the further south under the erstwhile ChhimtuipuiDistrict there were three Autonomous District Councils equipped with a separate discretionary developmental budget. The people of Lunglei District have, since many years back felt that the pace of development slowed down in their district and that development fund over-flew their district. For this reason, a High Powered Committee with the Chief Minister as the Chairman was constituted mainly to address the grievances of the people in Lunglei District.HPC is a District entity which does not exist in any other Districts of the State.
The Committee was further strengthened by the provision of providing a budgetary allocation of around 1% of the divisible State Plan Outlay. Within the Outlay earmarked as discretionary funds the High Powered Committee was empowered to formulate District Plans and schemes, implement district level plan and also review and monitor all district level plan and projects.

Composition of the reconstituted Lunglei High Powered Committee presently is as follows:
Chairman : Pu Lal Thanhawla, Chief Minister, Mizoram.
Vice-Chairman : Pu S.Laldingliana, MLA
Member Secretary : Ashish Madhaorao More, Deputy Commissioner, Lunglei District
Members :
1) PuLalbiaksangaPachuau, Chief PlanningOfficer,HPC.
2) Pu C. Lalhmingliana, Chanmari, Lunglei.
3) Pu C. Robuanga, Venglai, Lunglei
4) Pu R. Lalrosanga, Associate Professor, Lunglei Government College.
5) Pu P. Lalhmangaihzuala, CDPO, Lunglei.

HPC Building, Lunglei